top of page

Los Dedos Debut EP | Review

Los Dedos are a three-piece instrumental surf rock band based in Bristol. Made up of Willy Malo on the guitar and trumpet, Picu Moreno on bass and Spanish guitar and Sam Bigland on drums and percussion, the band released their debut EP at the beginning of the month. Featuring different styles including garage, surf to popular cinematic themes, the album is sure to leave a mark on the local music scene!

Featuring five tracks, Los Dedos is available on Bandcamp, Spotify, iTunes, YouTube Music and Amazon Music. According to Los Dedos, they “have many influences, from Dick Dale to Ennio Morricone to The Sonics” which all clearly come across in their debut EP, especially Ennio Morricone later on in the album. The first single, Crime Wave, was released back in January and was accompanied by a black-and-white music video. The casual shot types and laid-back flow of the video really suit the track well.


Crime Wave comes in immediately with a catchy and upbeat rhythm, making it clear right from the start that this isn't a song you can sit still and listen to. Recorded, mixed and mastered by Ben Capp at The Island Studios in Bristol, the EP is incredibly professionally put together and the quality of the production really allows each band member to be highlighted both individually and as part of the group. As a first track, Crime Wave does well at setting the tone for the rest of the EP as well as showing off the skill of each band member.

Tracks two and three, Midnight Hustle and The Bat take on a more cinematic approach. They give off strong connections to the film without being any less catchy and infectiously energetic than the first track. Both feel calmer than Crime Waveshowever, which is a nice change in pace when listening to the EP in full. This allows the EP to retain its consistent sound without becoming repetitive. I can easily see these two tracks being used in the film, they fit perfectly within the genre and are generally uplifting tracks!


Track four, High & Dry has a more stripped-back and chilled feel to it but still keeps with the theme and energy of the album. Taking on more of a cinematic edge the further into the song you get, the track feels familiar and recognisable but its unique edge still sets it apart from other similar tracks. High & Dry really shows off the skill of each band member through the noticeable western feel of the song.

Panic Buy is the final track on the EP, which brings back the upbeat tempo that was present in Crime Waves. The energy of the track is a fitting close to the album, linking it back to the beginning well. The track and the EP as a whole are a perfect blend of many different genres to create something unique and intriguing. The album fits together well and has a consistent sound throughout.

Overall, Los Dedos’ debut album is definitely worth listening to. Check it out on all the major streaming platforms and make sure to give them a follow to make sure you don’t miss out on any future material!

Check out the EP here!


Words by Chloe Pollard.

3 views0 comments


  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • TikTok
  • LinkedIn
  • Twitter
bottom of page